1. Gilbert and Ellice Islands (1937-1976), Gilbert Islands (1976-1979)

    Before independence, Kiribati and Tuvalu were a single colony known as the Gilbert and Ellice Islands. The Gilbert Islands retained the old arms when the colony was split, and they became the basis for the independence flag three years later.

    Kiribati’s name, pronounced “Kiribas”, is actually just the native translation of the word “Gilberts”.